Müller, XII Concerto da camera

MullerXII_coverXII Concerto da camera
Johann Michael Müller (1683–1736)
Modern edition by David Whitwell (1937-)

Instrumentation: Hautboisten (Oboe di concerto, Oboe 1.2, Cor Anglais, Bassoon) (all parts should be doubled)

Johann Michael Müller (1683–1736/43) was organist and Director of Music at the Hanauer Marien Church in Germany. During his lifetime he was widely known for having set 150 psalms of David to melodies of his own composition. It is an honor and a tribute to him that the first publication of these works in 1719 included a dedicatory poem composed by Telemann.

In 1712 he published in Amsterdam twelve Concerto da camera for Hautboisten of high quality, reflecting the considerable interest in this medium in Germany beginning at the end of the seventeenth century.

We changed the name of these suites from “Sonata” to “Concerto da camera,” as it is more in keeping with the late German Baroque. In addition one will note that the principal oboe part was called “Oboe Conc.,” or Oboe Concertino, a distinct part of the concerto form at this time. The term “Sonata” was added by the publisher in Amsterdam and reflects an earlier Renaissance tradition.

[table “2” not found /]