Ludwig van Beethoven


PDF download

Siegessinfonie by Ludwig van Beethoven, modern edition for wind ensemble by David Whitwell. The original band composition survives in a presentation copy by Beethoven’s copyist, with the composer’s corrections and a title page entirely in his hand.

AUD $40AUD $100


Product Description

Lud­wig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
Mod­ern edi­tion by David Whitwell (1937–)

Date: 1813
Instru­men­ta­tion: Wind Ensem­ble (Picc, Fl 1.2, Ob 1.2, Cl 1.2.3, Bsn 1.2, Cbsn, Hn 1.2, Tpt 1.2, Tbn 1.2, B Tbn, Tba, Timp, SD, BD, Cym, Tri)
Dura­tion: 6:25
Lev­el: 5


This live per­for­mance was giv­en on 16 March 2000 by the Cal­i­for­nia State Uni­ver­si­ty, North­ridge Wind Ensem­ble, David Whitwell, Con­duc­tor.

Notes on Beethoven’s Siegessinfonie

Fol­low­ing a minor vic­to­ry, the first of allied troops over Napoleon, the Bat­tle of Vito­ria in Spain on 21 June 1813, Beethoven’s friend Johann Mälzel saw an oppor­tu­ni­ty for a quick box-office suc­cess and talked the com­pos­er into writ­ing a com­po­si­tion com­mem­o­rat­ing this bat­tle which he could notate on his ‘mechan­i­cal orches­tra’: the pan­har­mon­i­con. Beethoven, how­ev­er, wrote a com­po­si­tion for large band—an instru­men­ta­tion so large that Mälzel could not build a machine large enough to per­form the music. As an alter­na­tive plan, Beethoven rewrote the Siegess­in­fonie for orches­tra, added a first part and renamed the work, Wellington’s Vic­to­ry. In this form it was pre­miered in Vien­na, togeth­er with the pre­miere of the Sym­pho­ny No. 7 and a work per­formed by Mälzel’s mechan­i­cal trum­peter.

The orig­i­nal band com­po­si­tion sur­vives in a pre­sen­ta­tion copy by Beethoven’s copy­ist, with the composer’s cor­rec­tions and a title page entire­ly in his hand.

Flute 1.2
Oboe 1.2
Clar­inet 1.2.3
Bas­soon 1.2
Trum­pet 1.2
F Horn 1.2
Trom­bone 1.2
Bass Trom­bone
Snare Drum
Bass Drum