Victor Buot

Morceau d’Élévation

PDF download

Morceau d'Élévation, Alto Saxophone solo with Concert Band by Victor Buot (d. 1883), modern edition by Craig Dabelstein (1973–). Victor Buot was Chief of the Artillery Band of the National Guard in France.

AUD $20AUD $60


Product Description

Morceau d’Élévation
Alto Sax­o­phone solo with Con­cert Band
Vic­tor Buot (d. 1883)
Mod­ern edi­tion by Craig Dabel­stein (1973–)

Date: mid 1800s
Instru­men­ta­tion: Alto Sax­o­phone solo with Con­cert Band (or organ)
Dura­tion: 3:00
Lev­el: 3

Notes on Victor Buot, Morceau d’Élévation

Vic­tor Buot (d. 1883), Chief of the Artillery Band of the Nation­al Guard in France, was one of the most pro­lif­ic com­posers of nine­teenth cen­tu­ry French band music. Among his extant com­po­si­tions are many march­es (one of which even became pop­u­lar in Ger­many!), polkas, gal­lops and valses.

Of more inter­est today are his seri­ous com­po­si­tions for band, includ­ing sym­phonies, over­tures and aes­thet­ic fan­tasies. He is also a rep­re­sen­ta­tive of the very large reper­toire of nine­teenth cen­tu­ry French music writ­ten for the Church. These include sin­gle com­po­si­tions, such as the present work writ­ten to be per­formed dur­ing Com­mu­nion, but also large-scale com­po­si­tions. Con­sid­er, for exam­ple, his Sta­bat Mater con­sist­ing of six move­ments:

  1. Quis est Homo, for solo bari­tone voice and full band
  2. Pro Pec­ca­tis svoe­gen­tis, for tenor solo with band
  3. Sanc­ta Mater, a capel­la
  4. Vir­go Vir­ginum, for soli bari­tone, tenor and band
  5. Inflam­ma­tus et Accen­sus, for bass voice and band
  6. Finale, for TTB cho­rus and band